Persepolis

persepolis1.jpg

Persepolis is an animated film about a young girl, Marjane (the name of the woman who wrote the autobiographical graphic novel which the film is based on), growing up during the Islamic Revolution in Iran. Although this movie’s subject matter is rather serious in nature, the film takes on a mostly chipper tone. You’ll find yourself laughing more than thinking about the socio-economics of Iran, both past and present. This could be seen as both a positive or a negative aspect of the film; I’m not sure where I stand.

This is for certain, the animation is amazing. Not since Les Triplettes de Belleville (2003) have I been so impressed and engrossed by the animation in front of my eyes. The animation alone is worth paying to see.

The storyline moves quickly: we see Marjane go from child to adult in ninety minutes. The flow isn’t off, but you are forced to take in a lot of story and I don’t think the film really allows you to invest yourself in the peoples’ lives your watching, or even the story, for that matter.

But it’s beautiful, very beautiful. The ending is great and it’s incredibly enjoyable to watch.

8/10

Trailer:

8 responses to “Persepolis

  • mangold

    i loved the movie. 9/10 for me. i might attach a short review to this later, though i feel very similarly.

  • mangold

    decided against posting another review. just feels wierd to have two in the same post. i kept wanting to make mine a simple response to bob’s review, but that’s what the comment page is for, so yeah.

    the only thing i disagree on is that i don’t think the movie had a “chipper tone.” it definitely had its comedic, happy moments, but it was more of a rollercoaster ride for me, and i certainly wasn’t in the greatest mood leaving the theater. and as for the pace, i really enjoyed it, and didn’t think it stopped me from really investing myself emotionally in some of the characters, especially marjane and her grandmother.

    i absolutely agree on the animation though. so beautiful and creative, and so simple in a way. reminded me of belleville too, which is great.

  • robfunk

    “the only thing i disagree on is that i don’t think the movie had a ‘chipper tone.’ it definitely had its comedic, happy moments, but it was more of a rollercoaster ride for me, and i certainly wasn’t in the greatest mood leaving the theater.”

    Maybe I’m just a cold, cold bastard. I think I may be wrong about feeling detached from the characters… Maybe what threw me was the surreal aspect of the film… I dunno.

  • Korn

    Have either of you read/taken a peek at the graphic novel it was based off of?

  • mangold

    not yet, i plan on checking it out next time i’m in a book store.

  • robfunk

    I guess there are two… a sequel, or something like that.

  • Korn

    Yeah, “Persepolis 2: The Story of a Return”….

Leave a Reply

