Hellboy 2: The Golden Army

Directed by Guillermo del Toro, I was expecting greatness, especially because I was a marginal fan of the first film. Hellboy 2 wasn’t bad and it wasn’t great. I’d say it had more potential to be great than it did to be bad, but fell short.

There is a strange level of attempted comedy, most of it actually succeeded. The attempts at dramatic romance were painful. An example of this would be a horrible fight/lovers’ tiff, which left me thinking “why the hell am I watching this?” Then, shortly after, Hellboy and Abraham are drunk and singing their woes – that was funny.

I think the previous juxtaposition of scenes serves as a pretty accurate metaphor for the film: the good was always followed by the bad and then followed by the good.

At moments I would be thinking film was awful and then I would think it was great – it’s a roller coaster of despair and enjoyment.

The one thing this film really has going for it was that it set-up, very well, sequels and I mean that in the best way possible.

B-

NOTE: I am not a Hellboy graphic novel reader, so I was looking at this film solely as a film.

and then… I saw The Dark Knight and I felt like I had been baptized anew in a fire fueled by angel hair. It is honestly one of the best films I have EVER seen. Only twice in my life have I left an entertainment event with the feeling I left Batman with last night.

Leave a Reply

