OP’s continuing coverage of the ’08 election: special edition

No one would accuse me of being Ludacris’ biggest fan, but this is fairly note worthy. Ludacris put out a song entitled “Obama is Here.” It’s got a great beat and the lyrics aren’t that shabby. Since being put up on youtube three days ago, the, what I’m assuming was a fan-made video, has received over 25,000 hits.

Some of the lyrics are questionable as is some of the message, but having Ludacris and other rappers (like Jay-Z) get behind Obama does attest to the assertion that this is a different campaign than we’ve seen before. There is no doubt that it is exciting.

Listen to the song / Watch the fan-made video

I think Ludacris may have a bit of a man-crush on Senator Obama.

UPDATE: The more I think about it the more I dislike this song. As a pure and simple song, I like it; as a pro-Obama rally cry, I’m not a fan. I espeically dislike the lines about Hillary and about painting the White House black – it’s just not what this campaign is about.

Leave a Reply

