Vicky Christina Barcelona

About a month late, I thought I’d lend a thought to Woody Allen’s relatively new film, Vicky Christina Barcelona. The film, so obviously an Allen film, characterized by an underlying darkness and undefinable sense of longing, or loss, stars Scarlett Johansson (Match Point, Lost in Translation), Penelope Cruz (Volver, Vanilla Sky), and Javier Bardem (No Country for Old Men). Rebecca Hall (The Prestige) also stars, and, in my opinion, becomes the reason for the film’s semi-disheartening tone.

Vicky (Hall) and Christina (Johansson) are two friends venturing to Spain for very different reasons; Vicky for a romantic distraction from a failed love life – a constant need/want for reality’s drama – and inspiration for a newly-aquired love of photography, and Christina for research, as well as a pre-marriage getaway. Their venture through Barcelona leads them to an introduction to Juan Antonio (Bardem), an artist and a man that goes too far beyond any preconceived notion of a Spanish Don Juan, and soon, both girls, admittedly or not, are enamored by him. Juan Antonio’s past becomes the present when his ex-wife, Maria Alena (Cruz), comes back into his life. Cruz is, without a doubt, the comedic touch to this Allen movie, and coupled with intensities from all other actors, creates a beautiful film deserving the reputation Allen is now carrying. The film is narrated, which distances audiences from the story a bit, but provides a humorous story-telling to the blatantly obvious.

I’d see it again, and probably again. A-

About lkorn


7 responses to “Vicky Christina Barcelona

  • bob

    I can’t believe I haven’t seen this yet. But I haven’t seen any movie in, well, about a month.

  • mcdufrechou

    I heard it wasn’t very good. Mostly it was complaints about the pacing and the American characters. I was told they were flat and unbelievable.

    I don’t know what to believe. The girls that told me are pretty trustworthy.

    Woody Allen isn’t always on his game. Remember Melinda and Melinda?

  • C. West

    But after Match Point and Scoop, I expect this flick to rock out.

  • mcdufrechou

    I want another comedy.

  • lkorn

    I was actually kind of torn when I wrote this… There was a lot that made me question the solidity of the film… Rebecca Hall’s role, for example. Her character was weak and frustrating. I take that back; every character was frustrating, and I think that was one thing that unified the entire piece.

    I liked it. Doesn’t mean you will… I could actually see you very much disliking it, Max… Or just being overly cynical of it, anyway.

  • evan

    i really liked it. probably his best of recent years, and loads better than cassandra’s dream (which i didn’t think was nearly as bad as the critics made it out to be).

  • mcdufrechou

    Better than Scoop? I loved Scoop.

Leave a Reply

