Frost/Nixon: My Take

 

Well, I did it. I finally went and saw Frost/Nixon. I almost didn’t. I’m very glad I did.

After some comments made by Owl Pellets’ own Mangold, I went from excited to “meh.” Evan (Mangold) and I agree on about 9.999 out of every 10 movies. Consider Frost/Nixon to fall in the 0.001 category.

I’ll admit, I was not a fan of some of the story-telling choices (i.e. the pseudo-dosumentary style portrayed through rather randomly placed interviews of central characters). None of this, however, can overshadow Frank Langella (President Richard Nixon). No doubt, he stole the show, but he did more than that – he redeemed any and all faults of the film. However, I don’t think there were all that many to begin with.

A strong supporting cast (Michael Sheen, Kevin Bacon, Oliver Platt) takes this movie from what could have been a mediocre flick to something surprising and incredibly enjoyable (and, at times, powerful). But yes, it almost all rests on the acting and not much else.

After political drama/thriller flop after flop after flop, something worthwhile has finally arrived (in addition to Milk, of course).

9.1/10

One response to “Frost/Nixon: My Take

  • evan

    i think it’s funny that though we almost always agree on both politics and movies that we always seem to disagree on political movies. last year it was charlie wilson’s war, this year it’s frost/nixon.

Leave a Reply

