The Wrestler

wrestler-aronofsky-promo-011

Hey look, a first post. I’m happy to say, though, that The Wrestler is a movie worthy of first-post status—when I went to see this movie on Sunday, I in no way expected it to be as good as it was. Yeah, sure, I expected some good performances, but The Wrestler transcends its seemingly simple story in so many ways that it easily lands a spot as one of the best movies of the year. The story is nothing more than Mickey Rourke playing Randy the Ram, a washed-up pro wrestler who decides to fix his life, but the extraordinary acting, directing, and writing come together to form an essentially perfect movie, minus some cheesy dialogue about Randy being a Christ figure. What’s interesting about The Wrestler is that I couldn’t tell you why or how it’s so deeply affecting—all I know is that I was completely riveted for all of the running time and was almost moved to tears by a couple of scenes. Yep, it’s that good. Kudos to Darren Aronofsky and especially Rourke and Marisa Tomei, who give this movie a soul. Go see it as soon as you can.

9/10

2 responses to “The Wrestler

  • Bob

    First, welcome to Team Owl Pellets.

    I still haven’t seen this flick, but, all in all, I’m very behind on my movie viewing. Really want to see it. Hearing nothing but good things.
    To be honest, The Wrestler first came to my attention because of The Boss and the song he wrote for the movie… oh… Bruce… how I love you.

  • evan

    this is one of my favorites, and has my second favorite scene of the year (the end of “let the right one in” is my personal favorite).

Leave a Reply

