Only in Alaska

Found this in The Anchorage Daily News today,

Bus driver lent a helping hand

I was at the bus stop at Alaska Regional Hospital when a guy walked over to the stop dressed in socks, sweat pants, a T-shirt, and wrapped in a blanket. Unusual dress considering it was 15 degrees. He looked like he had been in car wreck so I asked what had happened, and he said, “The husband did this.” He had been seeing a married woman and the husband came in, beat, kicked and stabbed this guy. When the police got there he was a bloody mess and without his clothes. The doctors treated his injuries, gave him some drugs for the pain, gave him some clothes and sent him on his way.

We got on the bus when the guy realized he would have trouble getting home, walking a number of blocks from the last stop, so I asked the driver if there was anything we could do to help him get home. He told me, “I’ll take care of it.” I didn’t know exactly what he meant but as I got off at my stop, the driver reassured me that everything would be OK. I would like to personally thank the driver on outbound No. 15 who helped a guy who made some wrong decisions.

— Burl Jones

Anchorage

Leave a Reply

