The Oscars: random thoughts/semi-live blogging

I’m starting this at 10:30pm (eastern time) on the dot.

Random thoughts as of 10:30pm:

1. The simpler, less extravagant Oscars are a plus.

2. Heath Ledger winning The Oscar was a powerful moment in Oscar history.

3. Bill Maher is an awful, awful comedian – I hesitate to even call him a “comedian.” Damn, he sucks. I mean, he really, really sucks. What an arrogant, terrible human being.

4. I’ve enjoyed the comedy so far – Seth Rogen, Ben Stiller, and Tina Fery come to mind.

5. The opening was pretty damn good.

6. I am ashamed of how behind I am this year when it comes to movies.

7. What is the deal with Hoffman’s hat?

10:35pm

Will Smith was a good choice. And Slumdog Millionaire is looking good for the win.

10:55pm

I really enjoyed the last acceptance speech (score for Slumdog Millionaire) – why? Because the guy finished with “God is great.” In your pompous face, Bill Maher!

11:06pm

Hugh Jackman has been a good host.

11:16pm

Roy Schneider, Isaac Hayes, Charlston Heston, and Paul Newman… where was Heath Ledger?

11:20pm

Boyle just won Director.

11:32pm

Kate Winslet has won Best Female Actor.

11:47pm

Sean Penn just gave one hell of an acceptance speech – I’ll be sure to post it ASAP.

11:56pm

Slumdog wins Best Picture. I was very pleased with The Oscars this year. Sean Penn > Bill Meyer.

3 responses to “The Oscars: random thoughts/semi-live blogging

  • evan

    i agree, thought it was a great show. jackman did a good job and the new format worked great.

    penn definitely gave the speech of the night, he and dustin lance black were both wonderful. glad milk had a good night.

    are you talking about bill maher? i didn’t think he was so bad despite some of the shameless self-promotion.

    and yay for danny boyle!

    oh, and ledger was on last years list since he died just before the ceremony.

  • bob

    Thanks for clearin gup Ledger for me.

    Yeah. Bill Maher – that’s what I meant. Why was I spelling his name that way?
    I hate that man. He’s not funny – the only laughs he gets are his own. I loved when he pointed out that he didn’t get nominated because religion is still a “touchy subject”… ha! You just suck and you’re movie sucked, that’s why you didn’t get a nob.

    Sorry.. sorry. I just really despise that man.

  • sdennison

    Not to be contrary, but I thought this year’s Oscars were awful–the Luhrmann musical number especially, along with the weird, awkward actor-to-actor speeches that replaced clips. Maybe I’m just an old fogey, but I want last year’s Oscars back.

    Danny Boyle is my hero, though. Who else would jump up and down at the Oscars?

Leave a Reply

