Twilight

I was going to be damned if I saw Twilight in theatres, so why am I writing a review for it? Does this mean I’ve finally seen this tween-chick flick? How ’bout I put it this way: I cannot wait till Nov. 20th. Nov. 20th is the theatrical release of New Moon – part 2 in the Twilight series.

Ok, ok! The acting can be questionable at times and the dialogue is simply horrific, but there is something about this flick that sticks. It’s a fun story and it’s oddly engrossing. I know full well that this puts me in league with every girl aged 13 to 20, but I frankly don’t give a damn (get it? Sort of referencing Gone With The Wind when talking about Twilight! How hilarious!).

If you’re looking to expand your knowledge of tween-pop, while indulging in a deliciously good time, well, then Twilight might be worth a gander.

8/10

Wow, a post on Britian’s Got Talent followed directly by a post on Twilight… hmm.

5 responses to “Twilight

  • evan

    haha, i totally agree. i’ll be at new moon opening night (no joke).

  • Korn

    I also put off seeing this movie as long as I could… There’s just something about it, though. I blame the romance of it, but amidst corny fast-action scenes and equally corny fight scenes, there’s something else. I got so completely attached the characters, I’ve contemplated reading the series to get my now-completely-necessary fix of Twilight — I have yet to give in to that contemplation, though.

  • mcdufrechou

    What’s with these ‘Highlighter Shortcuts’?

    Here’s a test to see if it happens automatically: new moon

    I don’t think I’ll ever see twilight or any of its sequels. The premise offends me. Vampires can’t fall in love, fact. There is no love, only lust; no compassion, only passion. Contradicting notions are ridiculous and foolhardy.

    If we lived in a world that included Supernatural creatures, I would campaign for Vampires to be denied citizenship. Werewolves would be granted rights – being a werewolf is essentially the same as having a man period. Zombies, as they are constantly breaking the law, would be restricted to existing in reservations. Bigfoot, Chucacabra, etc would be state protected animals. Mummies would be dealt with accordingly if and when they broke laws. Ghosts would be given a public forum, but largely ignored. As for Vampires, they’re going to have to go underground. They’re parasites and would be treated as such.

    Vampire sympathizers would hit a very real glass ceiling. Since they’re all clearly unsound and unreliable, they would never get promotions, be denied home loans, and taxi-cabs would avoid their fares.

  • lkorn

    I was wondering why we hadn’t heard from you, Max…

    …and what’s a ‘highlighter shortcut’?

  • Bob

    Re: “I don’t think I’ll ever see twilight or any of its sequels. The premise offends me. Vampires can’t fall in love, fact. There is no love, only lust; no compassion, only passion. Contradicting notions are ridiculous and foolhardy.”

    — In no way do I intend to assert some kind of “deepness” to this movie, but everything you attribute to Vampires and the contradictions you assume.. well, that’s kind of what the movie is about.

    PS You’ve seen Underworld with me (by choice? maybe) and there is VAmpire lovin’ in that.

Leave a Reply

