Inglourious Basterds Wins the Weekend

inglourious_basterds_poster_international1

Making $38 million over the weekend, “Inglourious Basterds” had the best opening of any Tarantino film.  The movie was pretty damn good too, with Christoph Waltz (Col. Hans Landa) stealing the show.  I’d have to say that Brad Pitt gave the worst performance of his life (though his Italian was hilarious), but it didn’t hurt the film too much.  Some people are complaining that it was too talky, but I could listen to Tarantino’s dialogue all day long.  He’s still easily one of the best writers around.  8.5/10

2 responses to “Inglourious Basterds Wins the Weekend

  • Maryann

    I believe that your statement about this movie being Pitt’s worst performance is far too hasty.

    For one thing, you’ve only seen the movie once. And for another, let’s think about the marketing for Basterds. It was completely sold as a Brad Pitt/Quentin movie, which it clearly wasn’t. The movie wasn’t written for Pitt to steal the show, and he didn’t. But we were led to believe that that is exactly what was meant to happen. I think that part of your dissatisfaction isn’t due to Pitt’s actual performance, but should actually be imparted to your expectations about the length and consistency of his performance not being met.

    I remember when we talked about the movie afterwards that part of your reason for not liking Pitt’s performance was because you didn’t like his character by the end. I think what you said was that Pitt’s portrayal of Aldo made you dislike Aldo because he was annoying and frustrating. Don’t you think it’s unfair to say that Pitt’s performance was poor because he successfully persuaded you into believing he was exactly who he was meant to be: a hick from Tennessee who is both violent and uneducated, the epitome of American bravado? Let’s face it. Quentin wasn’t just portraying the evils of the Nazis. He was also poking fun at Americans, their overwhelming desire to step in and take control, and (ultimately) their stupidity. We like Aldo because he is the “hero” foil to Hans, the main villain characterized aside from Hitler, and because he fights with daring-do against the Nazi regime. But you can’t love him unless you love exaggerated American hick-ness.

    Anyway, I’m done. Basically I thought Brad was just fine. This maybe was not his best performance, but it certainly was not his worst. Let’s not forget Legends of the Fall.

  • evan

    OK, let’s do this. 1) I knew it was an ensemble and that Brad would have limited screentime. Pitt’s screentime in no way has anything to do with why I didn’t like his performance. I was just talking about how the marketing was misleading. If anything I was happy he got so little screentime.

    2) I didn’t say that I “didn’t like his character by the end.” His character was great, had lots of the best lines and was just pure bad-ass. It was Pitt’s performance I found annoying, not the character. I know it was supposed to be over-the-top and all that, I think he just missed the mark.

    3) I agree with everything you said about Tarantino poking fun at Americans.

    4) True, I have only seen it once. My opinion may change, but it probably won’t change all that drastically.

Leave a Reply

